What are the Chakras


The 7 chakras are part of the most commonly known chakra system made of seven energy centers located along the spine and ending in the brain, from the perineum area to the top of the head.

The mainstream chakra system is based on a Hindu chakra system that recognises seven distinct “wheels” or “centers” of energy that are perpetually in motion along the human body’s spinal column. Each possessing its own color and vibrational frequency, these wheels are the catalysts of consciousness and human function. They govern various emotional issues, from our survival instincts and self-esteem to our ability to communicate and experience love.

To explain the work of chakra you can imagine a chakra as a traffic roundabout that transmits and channels the energy throughout the whole body. If not enough energy is streaming around a chakra it will be blocked; we are talking now about energetic deficiency. The same way, if too much energy streams through the roundabout / chakra it will also be blocked; here we are talking about energetic excess.

Root Chakra

Root Chakra is like the foundation of a house that keeps everything safely connected as long as it’s functioning properly. It’s sturdy, stabilizing, and supportive. The corresponding body parts are the base of the spine, the pelvic floor, and the first three vertebrae. Root Chakra is responsible for your sense of security and survival. That is why  it’s also associated with any means  you use to ground yourself, including basic needs such as food, water, shelter, and safety. This applies as well to your emotional needs such as letting go of fear and feeling safe. When these needs are met, you tend to worry less.

When the root chakra blocked it can result in a variety of ailments. Anxiety disorders, fears, or nightmares are examples of ailments when a blockage in the root chakra was is present. On the physical level a blockage in the root chakra is associated with problems in the colon, the bladder, or with lower back, leg, or feet issues.

The sacral chakra

The sacral chakra can be considered as the most fun out of the seven. It is located above the pubic bone and about the width of a hand’s palm below the navel. The sacral chakra is responsible for our emotions, feelings, relationships, and sexual and creative energies. It’s associated with the color orange and the element of water. When your sacral chakra is aligned, you will likely feel great: You’re friendly, passionate, and successfully fulfilled while also eliciting feelings of wellness, abundance, pleasure, and joy.

When the sacral chakra is misaligned or blocked it may lead to a state in which you feel uninspired, lack creatively or have some emotional instability. A blockage in the sacral chakra can also be associated with physical sexual disfunction, experiencing fear of change, depression, or addiction-like behaviours.

The solar plexus chakra

“Radiate your power in the world,” could say the solar plexus chakra. Its name in Sanskrit “Manipura” means “lustrous gem”. It is your source of individual power, mental abilities ruling over self-esteem. It is located between the navel to about the ribcage, it reportedly governs all things metabolic, digestive, and stomach-related.

A blockage in the solar plexus chakra may lead to a state in which you can suffer from low self-esteem, have difficulty making decisions, and/or may have anger or control issues. It might also lead you to outwardly express apathy, procrastination, or that you’re able to be taken advantage of easily. On the physical level a blockage in the solar plexus chakra is associated with tummy ache of some kind such as digestive issues or gas.

The heart chakra

The heart chakra colours our life with compassion, love, and beauty. It is the central chakra and is found at the center of your chest. And that represents that it is located where the physical and the spiritual meet. Physically, it’s said to encapsulate the heart, and as its name implies, is all about the love. Love experienced through the fourth chakra is not just about romance, but about going beyond the limitations of the ego and personal preoccupations. When your heart chakra is aligned and balanced, love and compassion are flowing freely—both in terms of giving it out and getting it back.

A closed heart chakra can give way to grief, anger, jealousy, fear of betrayal, and hatred toward yourself and others—especially in the form of holding a grudge against something or someone. Holding onto hurt harbors negative feelings and cuts you off from opportunities to love.

The throat chakra

The throat chakra is the passage of the energy between the lower parts of the body and the head. The function of the throat chakra is driven by the principle of expression and communication. It is all about speaking your inner truth—or specifically, ensuring that your inner truths are properly communicated. The throat is the first of the three solely spiritual chakras (as opposed to the lower ones, which manifest themselves in a more physical way). Anatomically, the throat chakra is associated with the thyroid, parathyroid, jaw, neck, mouth, tongue, and larynx. When this chakra is in check, you’re able to fully listen as well as speak and express yourself clearly.

When a blockage in the throat chakra is present you will be having trouble speaking your truth, and you find it hard to pay attention and stay focused, or fear judgment from others—which can further hinder your ability to keep it real. Physically, this blockage can reveal itself as a sore throat, thyroid issues, neck and shoulder stiffness, or tension headaches.

The third-eye chakra

The third eye chakra is the center of intuition and foresight. Physically it is located on the forehead between your eyebrows. The third eye influences many organs like the pituitary gland, eyes, head, and lower part of the brain. The third eye serves as a bridge between you and the outside world. It allows you to cut through illusions to see the clear picture.

You may have trouble accessing your intuition when the third eye chakra is blocked. That applies also to difficulties trusting your inner voice, recalling important facts, or learning new skills. It is very likely that your third-eye chakra is booked when your lower chakras are unbalanced or blocked (the root, sacral, solar plexus, and heart chakras). This will leads you to act more judgmental, dismissive, and introverted. A third-eye blockage is associated with a broad range of issues, including depression, anxiety, and a more judgmental attitude. On the physical level, a blocked third-eye chakra causes headaches, dizziness, and a slew of other brain-health issues.

The crown chakra

The crown chakra gives us access to higher states of consciousness as we open to what is beyond our personal preoccupations and visions. Its name in Sanskrit a”Sahaswara” means the “thousand petal lotus” chakra. It is the center of enlightenment and our spiritual connection to our higher selves. When aligned, the realizations that occur within you are said to be along the lines of pure awareness, consciousness, undivided, and all expansive. Basically, bigger than yourself and yet part of one giant universe.

A crown-chakra blockage or imbalance may create feelings of isolation or emotional distress—basically feeling disconnected from the your surroundings, from everyone and everything. Someone with closed crown chakra will be living in his head, being disconnected from his body and earthly matters, the thing that might lead to obsessive attachment to spiritual matters and closed-mindedness.